Christopher Henry Takes Second in the 10,000m Run at the Mountain West Championships

CLOVIS, Calif. (May 9, 2019) – Following a lengthy weather delay that pushed the start times back an hour and fifteen minutes, Cowboy distance runner Christopher Henry continued his outstanding track season with a runner-up finish in the 10,000-meter race at the Mountain West Outdoor Championships. He finished third at the indoor conference championships in both the 3,000m and 5,000m races.

“The race went out very conservative like it does sometimes in championship races,” said men’s distance coach Scott Dahlberg. “Chris did a great job covering the moves when it picked up, and he competed very well the last mile. He closed the last lap in under 60 seconds to beat the pack he was in and get runner-up. After an hour-and-fifteen-minute lightning delay, he showed great poise and toughness.”

Henry stayed with the lead pack throughout the early part of the race, and with six laps to go, he was with a group of three runners chasing the leader. Henry pushed into second and held off runners from Boise State and Air Force to finish second in 30:44.60. Jerald Taylor placed 13th in 31:57.07, and the Pokes picked up eight team points from the men’s 10,000m race.

“With the lightning delays, the girls ran a tough race,” said associate head coach Amanda Clower. “I am really proud of the hard work they have put in this year.”

For the Cowgirls, Kiah Leonard was UW’s top finisher. She placed 15th, crossing the line in 36:55.32. Teammate Addi Iken was just behind her in 19th, finishing in 37:35.33.

The Wyoming track & field teams are back in action tomorrow afternoon. The women’s hammer throw competition begins at 3 p.m. (MT) and the men’s 1,500m qualifying race starts at 6 p.m. (MT). Fans can follow @wyo_track for updates, and links to the stream and live results are available at


Clovis, Calif. | Veterans Memorial Stadium

April 9, 2019


Cowgirl Results

10,000m: 15. Kiah Leonard, 36:55.32; 19. Addi Iken, 37:35.33


Cowboy Results

10,000m: 2. Christopher Henry, 30:44.60; 13. Jerald Taylor, 31:57.07